Ralph Klein has gone and it is time to retire Ralph's World. Thanks to all of you who have supported this venture by contributing material and through your comments. It has been fun.

Should we get another blog underway? Let me know your thoughts by e-mailing me at johnnyslow@gmail.com.

John Slow
January 1, 2007

Thursday, July 29, 2004

Pre-Election Reflection 

PC’s Re-Running the Re-Runs

The aura of electioneering is in the air, Ralph Klein’s PC's have declared the debt “paid in full” and are stirring their $4 Million campaign war chest. Kevin Taft and the Alberta Liberals are criss-crossing Alberta on their “Red Truck Tour.” The New Democrats are gearing up with Brian Mason as their new leader, and the Alberta Alliance has gained an MLA (all be it, a former PCer).

As the election approaches, talk has begin to arise around which MLA’s are going to run and which are going to retire. Aside from some of the recent “high profile” retirements of longtime Klein Ministers, Alberta’s Progressive Conservative Caucus is far away from seeing any type of renewal in the “new blood” section. After looking down a list of the “newly” nominated PC Candidates ( see www.albertapc.ab.ca), I got the strange feeling that I had seen this list before… It looks eerily similar to the 2001 "Positive Future" armada, starkly reminiscent of the 1997 Ralph’s Team, and a little different than the 1993 Vintage Ralph gang.

Now, experience is a good thing, but when a couple of terms end up becoming a career, then it becomes time for a change. Ralph Klein’s Caucus looks full of career politicians. Those MLA’s first elected in 1993 will have spent 11 years in Alberta’s Legislature by the time a fall election is called. (Not to mention the lengthy careers of those elected before 1993).

It should be noted that the PC’s are the only party still running candidates first elected in 1993. The 3 Alberta Liberal MLA’s elected in 1993 and re-elected in 2001: Ken Nicol (Lethbridge East), Debby Carlson (Edmonton Ellerslie), and Don Massey (Edmonton Mill Woods), are or have retired. The two New Democrats: Brian Mason (Edmonton Highlands) and Raj Pannu (Edmonton Strathcona) were elected in 2000 and 1997 respectfully.

Complacency seems to have set-in in King Klein’s Court. They are overloaded and tired of any new ideas. It is time to look for new blood and begin to retire these Tories before they get any more comfortable then they already are.

PC Class of Re-Runs (running again)
(Name/New Riding/First Elected)

PC Pre-1993
Ken Kowalski / Barrhead – Morinville – Westlock / 1979
Shirley McClellan / Drumheller – Stettler / 1987
Ralph Klein / Calgary Elbow / 1989
Mike Cardinal / Athabasca – Redwater / 1989
Pearl Calahasen / Lesser Slave Lake / 1989

Ty Lund / Rocky Mountain House / 1989

PC Class of 1993
Moe Amery – Calgary East
David Coutts - Livingstone – Macleod
Victor Doerkson – Red Deer South
Clint Dunford – Lethbridge West
Heather Forsyth – Calgary Fish Creek
Yvonne Fritz – Calgary Cross
Carol Haley – Airdrie - Chestermere
Denis Herard – Calgary Egmont
Mark Hlady – Calgary Mountain View
Richard Magnus – Calgary North Hill
Gary Mar – Calgary Mackay
Barry McFarland – Little Bow
Lyle Oberg – Strathmore - Brooks
Rob Renner – Medicine Hat
Murray Smith – Calgary Varsity
Julius Yankowski – Edmonton Beverly Clareview
Gene Zwozdesky - Edmonton Mill Creek

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?